Liner notes and palate cleansers

Photo via Stereotank; click image for source

It’s June, whaaaa?! And up here in the Pacific Northwest, the spring term ends with the season, in late June. This totally makes sense to this librarian mind, but it’s hard on my emotions when many friends and family in the rest of the country are off already for the summer. But then, I’ll be doing the same thing come September, when we’re enjoying our final month of summer up here!

Until then, I will be enjoying…

♥ … these 12 things famous authors have gone on record as having hated. Except for what Mark Twain didn’t like, which I refuse to acknowledge. And once you visit the link, you’ll see why. 😉

♥ Mark Twain also served up some scathing liner notes in his copy of Plutarch’s Lives of Illustrious Men. See more classic books annotated by famous authors here.

♥ Whew. I cleansed my palate with this adorable “little free library” stand in New York City

♥ … as well as with this inspiring video of elementary school kids getting creative and solving one of the world’s biggest mysteries in 10 minutes.

About Jen

Librarian, blogger, movie lover
This entry was posted in Weekend special and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Liner notes and palate cleansers

  1. Naomi says:

    I want to hit Mark Twain over the skull with his own shin bone. How dare he profane la Jane?

    I have an interview tomorrow for a Community Librarian position. Wish me luck!

    • Good luck!!! 😀 (And Mark Twain and Henry James, who once referred to Austen’s heroines as having “small and second-rate minds and were perfect little she-Philistines,” can go stand in the corner together!)

      • Naomi says:

        🙂 And it went very well, thanks. There are seniority issues at play, so I may not get the position, but the Director of Public Service told me I had a great interview.

Leave a Reply

