Reader appreciation, happy happy

Right before we left on vacation in mid-August, I was thrilled to find out that Letizia over @ Reading Interrupted (really cool reading-centric blog, please go over and check it out!) nominated me for a Reader Appreciation Award! So now that we’re back, I am able to fully reciprocate the smiles and hand-clapping that occurred when I read Letizia’s very kind words about this here blog. 🙂

It’s funny, I’ve heard the saying, “Blog like no one’s reading,” in order to focus on finding your own personal blog voice and stick with your personal interests. But it still tends to surprise me when people respond to something I’ve written on a blog. (Especially when it’s coming from people I know in real life.) I get all blushy and stammering. Sam says it looks cute. But it always feels great to be appreciated, and I gotta admit, we librarians are TOTAL suckers for a little appreciation. We get comparatively little of it in our professional lives — seriously, we take in a LOT of frustration from the public, but hey, it’s also part of our jobs to diffuse that frustration and turn it into a positive experience —  and if we get a smile and a thank you from a patron, we will go over-the-top in helping that person out. Really, try it out sometime the next time you’re in a library. And if you’re reading this blog, that “next time” won’t be long! 😉 There’s one female student I see in the library frequently, and she tends to seek me out personally for help, calling me her “Angel of Reference.” Makes me smile every single time.

And now, without further ado, here are the “rules” of this nomination:

  • Identify and show appreciation of the blogger who awarded you. (Check!)
  • You must add the award logo to your blog. (Check!)
  • Tell your readers 7 things about yourself. (See below)
  • You must nominate 5-10 of your favorite bloggers for this award. (See below)
  • Inform your nominees that you nominated them. (Will do. Update:  Check!)

7 things about myself that you may or may not already know:

  • 7 is one of my favorite numbers (along with 12)
  • I enjoy being both a Leo (Western Zodiac) and a Sheep/Goat (Chinese Zodiac). I feel like those two extremes balance me out. I also have a poster in my office that reads “Love Your Library” inbetween a lion and a sheep.
  • I love the TV show Friends. Like LOVE love. Like Sam and I have all 10 seasons kind of love and speak in Friends-quotes so often we call it Friends-speak. Not kidding.
  • I love nail polish on my toes. Especially sparkly metallic shades. If you see me out in public without toenail polish, that’s a sign that I’m not feeling too well. Yes, I tell my friends this so they can be on the lookout. 😉
  • I love YA fiction. And I just finished rereading the Harry Potter series right before we left on vacation.
  • I can write backwards in cursive, which I taught myself how to do back in 3rd grade or so. And my backwards handwriting is very different from my regular handwriting. Hmmm, maybe I should consult a handwriting expert for any clues on what that might mean…
  • I taught myself how to type back in 4th grade, on my late grandmother’s portable typewriter, and I took the last typing class my school offered (in 1994!), before everything switched over to computers. I still miss old-school typewriters. I also participated in both the Typewriting and Computer Skills academic contests in high school UIL (if you don’t know what that is, click here) — and was state champion in Computer Skills my senior year!

I read a lot of blogs, and all different kinds of blogs (library, style, movies, DIY, cake mishaps, and so on), but here are my 5 nominations right now, to pay forward this award:

  • Beginner’s Mind:  Any such list would be remiss without mentioning my husband’s blog. He was the initial blogger in our family, and has been such an inspiration and support in my becoming a blogger. He’s so insightful and caring and open-hearted. And crazy-talented. All of this and more is apparent if you click through to his blog. Check out his Uncle Smiley blog, too! 🙂
  • 45 Before 45 Project:  This one is new, but I am already such a fan of this project, as well as Leo’s thoughtful approach. So inspiring. And Leo is another world-travelling librarian.
  • Awful Library Books:  The title says it all. Sometimes, you just gotta laugh. And I do, often, when I visit this site.
  • Letters to a Young Librarian:  This is a blog started by an academic librarian in the tradition of Rilke’s Letters to a Young Poet. I like this line from her first post:  “I had a realization recently: I have reached the end of the beginning of my career.” I feel similarly, and I like the practical, friendly, we’re-all-in-this-together attitude of this blog. Having entered my first professional mentorship as a mentor this past year, I also highly recommended this blog to my new librarian mentee.
  • Libraries at the Movies:  A UK cousin to my Reel Librarians site, I find Colin’s blog and his insights on libraries in movies engrossing and stimulating. A must-read, as far as I’m concerned, full stop.

Hope you found some new favorites… happy reading! 🙂

About Jen

Librarian, blogger, movie lover
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reader appreciation, happy happy

  1. letizia says:

    “Angel of Reference”… now that’s a compliment! How wonderful! I look forward to exploring your nominated blogs 🙂

  2. Pingback: BONUS! Reader appreciation award « Reel Librarians

Leave a Reply

