So simple and lovely

Relativism poster © 2012 by Genís Carreras. Click to view full gallery.

Having lived in Portland, Oregon, for almost a year — at least I’ve seen a bit of all four seasons — I can say I have thoroughly enjoyed each of those seasons. Each one is my new favorite! It’s teaching me to live more in the moment, because overall, living in the Pacific Northwest is pretty spectacular. And that’s how you can tell I’m a transplant… I am still saying things like, “Why doesn’t everyone live here?” rather than, “No! It rains too much! Don’t come up here!” 🙂

And now for something completely different…

♥ These minimalist posters explain complex philosophical concepts with basic shapes, which is pretty cool both visually and mentally. Quite thought-provoking, even if you never before randomly wondered, “How would I conceptualize relativism?”

Beyoncé loves our First Lady. As do I. We are like THIS.

♥ Ever wondered what fictional character shares your birthday? (Today’s theme = Random questions you’ve never voiced out loud.) Then wonder no more! Mine was a bit of a disappointment:  I share August 12 with Leo Chingkwake (at least his name is Leo, my astrological sign), a character from The ’70s Show. I had to look that up. Sam was luckier:  Mr. Snuffleupagus from Sesame Street.

♥ This very, very personal review/personal essay of The Hunger Games, and more specifically, the strength of main character Katniss Everdeen, made me cry. No kidding, it’s a tough read. But worth it. And I just teared up again rereading it.

Stories have given me a place in which to lose myself. They have allowed me to remember. They have allowed me to forget. They have allowed me to imagine different endings and better possible worlds.

♥ Ok, if you’ve read the above essay, take a breath by watching this video of the birth of a book, a “beautiful little snapshot of the printing process, so simple and lovely it seems almost like a dance.”

Click to open new window and view video

About Jen

Librarian, blogger, movie lover
This entry was posted in Weekend special and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

