A personal world of books

Happy spring on this last day of Women’s History Month!

I thought I’d share a couple of glimpses into our home library.

One wall of our home library in Portland, OR, 2011

Yes, that is ONE wall of our home library (otherwise known as “an ode to IKEA Billy bookcases”). What you’re seeing on the open shelves is mostly fiction. Our living room is literally encased in bookshelves, which makes me smile every single day. What can I say? We were both English majors; I’m a librarian, and my husband’s an English lit & writing professor. We like being surrounded by books. 🙂

And here’s a close-up of one of our non-fiction shelves:

One row of non-fiction in our home library

This row of non-fiction includes titles about libraries (including my undergraduate thesis, “A Glimpse Through the Glasses: Portrayals of Librarians in Film,” which you can read more about on my Reel Librarians blog), Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and a little bit of Nancy Drew there on the right. Yep, this row of books reveals a lot about my personal interests. 🙂

What’s on your bookshelf? Please leave a comment.

About Jen

Librarian, blogger, movie lover
This entry was posted in Weekend special and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A personal world of books

  1. Pingback: BONUS! Adding to my Master List « Reel Librarians

Leave a Reply

