Selfies + pop culture faves

Hope y’all enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving break! And while I was relaxing over the break, I enjoyed …

Selfie definition from Oxford Dictionaries♥ … this story about a man who discovered this treasure of 10,000 undeveloped negatives, revealing a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the ’50s and ’60s.

♥ … reading about Oxford Dictionaries’ “word of the year,” selfie (plus the runners-up). Turns out the word selfie originated in 2002 in an Australian online forum. I ♥ etymology.

♥ … and speaking of selfie, here’s a fun round-up of iconic images reimagined as selfies.

♥ … getting addicted to these “list challenges,” including this list of the 75 most popular films from 1980-1995. I’ve seen 66 of the 75 — how many have you seen? (To be fair, I didn’t watch all of these films during that time period. For example, it took me an embarrassingly long time to finally get around to watching This is Spinal Tap. But I’m glad I can now say lines like “This one goes to 11!” and know what I’m actually talking about. ;) )

♥ … last, but not least, this Flavorwire gallery of favorite pop culture librarians. Any personal faves in this list? Please leave a comment and let me know!

About Jennifer

Librarian, blogger, movie lover
This entry was posted in Weekend special and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Selfies + pop culture faves

  1. ambercanread says:

    I have to go with the librarian from Monsters University since I told my husband I wanted to be her (it?). Also, I’ve seen a shamefully low number of the other movies/TV shows, so I only had a couple of choices for my selection!

    Love the iconic images reimagined as selfies. Posting that on our library’s social media tomorrow! =)

    Amber @ Section 391

Leave a Reply

